You are here: Home / Race Days / Wanganui JC - 8 September 2018 / Wanganui JC 8 September 2018 - R 7 (instigating a protest) - Chair, Mr N McCutcheon

Wanganui JC 8 September 2018 - R 7 (instigating a protest) - Chair, Mr N McCutcheon

Created on 10 September 2018

NMcCutcheon (chair)
Information Number:
Horse Name:
Persons present:
Mr C Phelan - Trainer of NOTABADIDEA
Ms D Johnson - Rider of BOBBY DAZZLER
Mr J Oatham - Chief Stipendiary Steward
Mr N Goodwin - StipendiarySteward

Following the running of Race 7 (HS DYKE WANGANUI GUINEAS), Information No.A10074 was filed with the Judicial Committee. It was alleged by the Informant, Mr Waddell that BOBBY DAZZLER (D Johnson) placed 1st by the Judge interfered with the chances of the 2nd placed horse NOTABADIDEA in the run down the back straight.

Rule 642(1) provides:
If a placed horse or its rider causes interference within the meaning of this Rule 642 to another placed horse, and the Judicial Committee is of the opinion that the horse so interfered with would have finished ahead of the first mentioned horse had such interference not occurred, they may place the first mentioned horse immediately after the horse interfered with.

Judge’s Placings were:

3rd - MOHAKA
4th - BOTTI

The margin between 1st and 2nd was a short-head.

Submissions For Decision:

The Informant, Mr Waddell’s submission was that shortly after the start he was in the one-back one-out position with Ms Johnson on his outside. He said that Ms Johnson steered in on him and his horse was checked. He said that she took his position and as a consequence she had a cosy run, whereas he had to mount his run 4-wide. He said that the interference cost his horse half a length in distance and as the margin was only a short-head at the finish of the event that it had cost his horse the race as it did not get a fair run.

Mr Phelan, the Trainer of NOTABADIDEA said that he agreed with Mr Waddell’s submission.

Mr Marsh, the Trainer of BOBBY DAZZLER said that what had happened is called “finding your position”. He said that NOTABADIDEA had headed his horse in the run home and that his horse had kicked back and won the race and that both horses had had their chances in the straight. He said that in his opinion it was a fair contest and that the protest was bordering on being frivolous.

Ms Johnson said that the film said it all and that she had nothing further to add.

Mr Goodwin, Stipendiary Steward, said that there was some interference after the start and that they had had time to sort themselves out. He said that it was for the Judicial Committee to determine the outcome of the Protest.

Reasons For Decision:

The Committee found that shortly after the start BOBBY DAZZLER was racing in a 3-wide position on the outside of NOTABADIDEA. The film evidence showed that BOBBY DAZZLER did shift in for a stride or two and that Mr Waddell was required to momentarily ease his mount. From that time on in the race NOTABADIDEA had an uninterrupted run.

Taking all relevant matters into consideration the Committee was of the opinion that due to the minimal interference, where it occurred in the race (1100m approx) and how both horses finished the race off there was nil effect on the finishing order of the first two place-getters.


The Protest 2nd against 1st was dismissed.

Authorisation was given for the dividends and prizemoney to be paid on the Judge’s Placings.

Document Actions