You are here: Home / Race Days / Wanganui JC - 25 June 2020 / Wanganui JC 25 June 2020 - R 6 (instigating a protest) - Chair, Mrs N Moffatt

Wanganui JC 25 June 2020 - R 6 (instigating a protest) - Chair, Mrs N Moffatt

Created on 26 June 2020

Rules:
642(1)
Committee:
NMoffatt (chair)
Respondent(s):
Mr K Myers - Trainer of ZENTANGLE
Informant:
Ms E Nicholas - Rider of TALLYHO TWINKLETOE
Information Number:
A12319
Horse Name:
ZENTANGLE
Persons present:
Ms E Nicholas - Rider of TALLYHO TWINKLETOE
Mr D Parker - Rider of ZENTANGLE
Mr K Myers - Trainer of both ZENTANGLE and TALLYHO TWINKLETOE
Mr N Goodwin - Stipendiary Steward
Evidence:

Following Race 6 (St Johns Club HWT) a protest was lodged pursuant to Rule 642(1) by Ms Nicholas alleging that horse number 2 (ZENTANGLE) or its rider placed 1st by the Judge interfered with the chances of horse number 6 (TALLYHO TWINKLETOE) placed 2nd by the Judge.

The information alleged interference in the home straight.

Judge's placings were:

1st  ZENTANGLE (2)
2nd TALLYHO TWINKLETOE (6)
3rd  BAD BOY BROWN (10)
4th  MONDORANI (5)

The official margin was a nose.

Submissions For Decision:

Before hearing from both parties the head-on and side-on videos were played with Mr Goodwin identifying the two horses involved.

Ms Nicholas (TALLYHO TWINKLETOE) was racing to the inside of ZENTANGLE. She told the Committee that she received a slight bump from that runner which put her horse momentarily off stride. When asked by the Chair if the interference had affected her chances of beating ZENTANGLE she said “potentially it did”. Ms Nicholas explained that she thought they had finished in a dead heat. (After viewing the films a number of times during the hearing Ms Nicholas said she was less convinced that she would have beaten ZENTANGLE despite the contact.)

Mr Parker declined to give evidence but when questioned denied that his mount had moved inwards and bumped the 2nd placed horse.

Mr Myers was the trainer of the two horses involved in the protest. He said that both horses had drifted in towards the rail from an initial 6-wide position. He said Ms Nicholas was not forced to stop riding and the slight bump did not affect the stride of TALLYHO TWINKLETOE. He did not support the protest.

For the Stewards Mr Goodwin said that despite ZENTANGLE shifting in Ms Nicholas did not stop riding and ZENTANGLE was comfortably holding TALLYHO TWINKLETOE at the line.

Reasons For Decision:

Rule 642(1) states:

If a placed horse or its Rider causes interference within the meaning of this Rule 642 to another placed horse and the Judicial Committee is of the opinion that the horse so interfered with would have finished ahead of the first-mentioned horse had such interference not occurred, they may place the first mentioned horse immediately after the horse interfered with.

The Committee considered all the submissions. The rider of ZENTANGLE maintained that his mount had not run inwards however the head-on film clearly showed the two horses come together at approximately the 130m mark. TALLYHO TWINKLETOE kept a straight line and it was the mount of Mr Parker who moved in. Mr Parker also admitted to straightening his mount up at this point. It was the opinion of the Committee that while Ms Nicholas was not affected enough to stop riding, TALLYHO TWINKLETOE did in fact change stride when the two horses made contact.

Relegation is not automatic following interference. Taking into account the minor nature and consequences of the interference, and the manner in which both horses were finishing the race, the Committee was not convinced that TALLYHO TWINKLETOE would have beaten ZENTANGLE had the incident not occurred.

Decision:

Accordingly, the protest was dismissed and authorisation to pay dividends on the Judge's placings and stake money was approved.

 

Document Actions