You are here: Home / Race Days / Northern Southland TC - 13 January 2021 / Northern Southland TC 13 January 2021 - R 7 (request for a ruling) - Chair, Mr N Skelt
Related items

13 Jan 2021
Northern-Southland-Tc - R 7

Northern Southland TC 13 January 2021 - R 7 (request for a ruling) - Chair, Mr N Skelt

Created on 14 January 2021

Rules:
213(1)(J)
Committee:
NSkelt (chair)
Stipendiary Steward(s):
Mr V Munro - Stipendiary Steward, Miss R Haley - Stipendiary Steward
Name(s):
Miss S Ottley - Driver of TIGER MOTH, Mr B Ward - Official Starter
Information Number:
A10658
Evidence:

Following the running of Race 7, Willys Flooring/Phillips Horse Transport Mobile Pace, Mr V Munro Stipendiary Stewart lodged a request for a ruling under Rule 213 (1) (J) alleging whether Tiger Moth (S Ottley) received a fair start.

Rule 213 (1) (J) reads:

A Stipendiary Steward at any time may scratch from a race or declare ineligible to start a race until a specific condition is met any horse on all or any of the following grounds: -

(J) If a horse is denied a fair start and such occurrence materially prejudiced the chances of the horse.

In this particular incident the Steward chose to file an Information for the Judicial Committee to determine the Ruling.

Submission For Decision:

Mr Munro showed the various video clips of the alleged incident, highlighting the second row of horses being unusually further behind the front row, seemingly the drivers turning to complete another circle before turning in as the mobile pulled away (R McIlwrick).

Aveross Rustler who drew number one on the second line turned in front of Tiger Moth.

Miss Ottley (Tiger Moth) stated that Aveross Rustler (R Mcllwrick) turned directly in front of her horse which was starting in the unruly position.

Miss Ottley stated that her horse had “nowhere to go” and was denied a fair start.

Mr Ward (Official Starter) stated that he whistled, and the front turned in, but the second line drivers may not have been focused as they were very slow to move into line.

Reasons For Decision:

The video evidence, along with the verbal evidence from Miss Ottley, was compelling. Aveross Rustler, by turning in front of Tiger Moth did not allow Tiger Moth to start from its correct position and move off with the rest of the field evenly as required.

Decision(s):

For the Committee to uphold a request under R 213 (1) (J) we have to be clearly satisfied at the start, a horse’s chances were affected. We find that without doubt this is the case in this instance and that Tiger Moth has been blocked and denied a fair start.

Tiger Moth is declared a non-runner/late scratching as a result.

Document Actions