You are here: Home / Race Days / Hawkes Bay RI - 1 October 2011 / Hawke's Bay R 1 October 2011 - R 7

Hawke's Bay R 1 October 2011 - R 7

Created on 04 October 2011

Rules:
638(1)(d)
Committee:
NMoffatt (chair)
NMcCutcheon
Name(s):
Mr J Waddell - Licensed Rider
Mr N Goodwin - Stipendiary Steward
Mr R Neal - Stipendiary Steward
Informant
Mr C George - Chief Stipendiary Steward
Information Number
3055
Plea:
Admitted
Charge:

Following the running of Race 7, the Traderacks Stakes Group 3, an Information was lodged by Mr C George alleging a breach of Rule 638(1) (d) in that rider J Waddell the rider of IMANI allowed his mount to shift inwards over the final stages when not clear of FRITZY BOY (D Walker) which was checked.

Evidence:

Mr Goodwin used the head-on and side videos to show how approximately 150m from the finish Mr Waddell allowed his mount IMANI to move inwards and take the rightful line of running of FRITZY BOY hampering that runner. Mr Walker, the rider of FRITZY BOY, had to take hold of his mount and steady for some strides. Although Mr Walker told the stipendiary stewards that FRITZY BOY was a “spent force” at the time of the incident he was still entitled to a clear line of running.

Decision:

As Mr Waddell admitted the breach the charge was found proved.

Submission For Penalty:

Mr Goodwin said that there were no careless riding charges on Mr Waddell’s riding record. Mr Waddell explained that he did not ride for a year but prior to his break from riding he had only had two careless riding charges in three years.
Mr Goodwin said that in the stewards’ opinion the degree of carelessness was in the low to medium range and his submission was for a starting point of a five day suspension.
Mr Waddell said that he had been back riding for three months and had already had 100 rides for no suspensions. He said that FRITZY BOY was weakening at the time of the incident and that there was no danger, Mr Walker only had to steady slightly. Responding to questions from the committee Mr Waddell agreed that he had not stopped riding and admitted to not being fully aware of his inward movement. He was riding hard trying to get the best from his horse in a Group 3 race. He had simply made an error of judgement.

Reasons For Penalty:

In coming to a decision on penalty the committee took into account all of the submissions. We adopted as a starting point a suspension of five days with mitigating factors being Mr Waddell’s admission of the breach and his good record although it must be recognised that he has only been back riding for three months.
Aggravating factors were the fact that Mr Waddell continued to ride with the whip despite moving inwards and causing interference to FRITZY BOY. At no time did he attempt to straighten his mount. FRITZY BOY was entitled to a clear line of running even though he may have come to the end of his run. We also considered the Group 3 status of the race in determining penalty.
Mr Waddell advised of riding commitments through until next Saturday October 8th. He said that he was riding everywhere including every meeting down south where he was actively seeking rides for the New Zealand Cup carnival. Flights down had been booked and paid for.
Taking into account all of the above it was our opinion that an appropriate penalty was a period of five days suspension. We accepted Mr Waddell’s assertions that his intent was to ride extensively throughout both North and South Islands therefore we included all race days in the penalty.

Penalty:

Mr Waddell was suspended from the close of racing on Sunday October 8th up to, and including, racing on Saturday October 15th.

Document Actions